Match Made in Manhattan

A Novel

Match Made in Manhattan

By:  Stauffer, Amanda

$24.99 Paperback
Order Qty:
Review Order
Skyhorse Publishing Inc.

Limited ***

6.0 X 9.0 in
320 pg

FICTION / Contemporary Women
FICTION / Humorous / General
FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
For fans of The Bachelorette and Bridget Jones, a story about the awkward, romantic, and cringe-worthy struggles of trying to find The One in the digital dating age.

“A story that has all the makings of a blockbuster rom-com.” --Good Morning America

A New York Post "must-read" book

"Perfect for anyone who has dated their share of oddballs, this novel will make readers in relationships very happy not to be single, and will make single readers feel understood, as they read about Alison's triumphs and disasters. With some funny scenes and a few decidedly cringeworthy ones, Match Made in Manhattan is the modern dating scene encapsulated."--Shelf Awareness

"An exciting debut novel to kick off the new year" -- Brit + Co

"This wildly real and relatable book from Amanda Stauffer will have you laughing until the very end." -- BuzzFeed

"New York. Romance. Dating in the digital age. What more could you ask for in a lighthearted novel? Match Made in Manhattan is the fun, fast-paced beach read you need to warm up your winter." --Hello Giggles

"Amanda Stauffer knows a thing or two about first dates." --am New York

"Twentysomething New York City architectural conservator Alison has just gotten out of the second of her two long-term relationships. Her roommates convince her to join to meet New York’s most eligible bachelors. From a snowboarding lawyer to an undercover agent to a closeted folk singer, Alison navigates her way, date by date, in the digital age. Stauffer joins the ranks of women’s fiction writers with this cute debut. . . . The characters that Alison encounters are funny in their own right, and keep the story moving. From the Pants Speech to the Three Martini Questions, and all of the text messages and emails in between, readers will follow Alison as she encounters both bad and interesting dates, which may, or may not, lead her to The One. VERDICT: A frothy read. This novel will be popular in collections where light chick lit is in demand.”--Library Journal

"An ideal story for fans of New Adult fiction and contemporary romance, but it's got a fun unexpected arc. Not your momma's rom-com."--IndiePicks Magazine

"Stauffer has embodied what dating is like in the digital age: unexpected, fast-paced, and a journey of self-discovery." --RT Book Reviews

"Match Made in Manhattan works on so many levels. There are the great, juicy dating parts (I wish I could sit in on all the book clubs as they enjoy trading their dating stories.) But there's also a depth to this book that is such a welcome surprise. Amanda's writing pulls you in and takes you on the most satisfying journey." -- Amy Cohen, New York Times bestselling author of The Late Bloomer's Revolution

Whether you're single yourself or simply curious about the world of modern dating, Alison's quest for 'The One' will draw you in (and may even have you nodding in recognition). Match Made in Manhattan will inspire you to reflect on all the most important relationships in your life - the ones with romantic partners, with friends, and, perhaps most importantly, with yourself." -- Rachel Bertsche, New York Times Bestselling author of MWF Seeking BFF

"(SPOILER) Alison gets her happy ending, but it may not be what you'd expect..." -- Reality Steve

"Match Made in Manhattan is an entertaining romp through New York's Internet dating scene. You will root for Alison--and cringe at some of her suitors--as she explores whether a virtual spark can turn into real-life love."-- Dana Bate, author of Too Many Cooks

"Match Made in Manhattan may begin with a familiar premise, but it quickly becomes specific, thought-provoking, hilarious, and touching. Alison is not your average ingenue." --Elyssa Friedland, author of The Intermission and Love and Miss Communication

"Match Made in Manhattan gamely plumbs the depths of online dating in NYC -- the inbox of would-be suitors, the awkward dates, and the all-important debrief with your girlfriends. Stauffer has written a relatable, realistic narrative that explores dating in the digital age with all its ups, downs, and ambiguities in between."-- Jessica Tom, author of Food Whore: A Novel of Dining and Deceit

Amanda Stauffer is a thirty-something graduate of Yale and Columbia Universities who works as an architectural conservator, restoring historic landmarks across the country. When she grew frustrated with New York City's dating scene in her twenties, Amanda headed to Even though no successful relationships came out of it, her experiences provided her with a lifetime of warm and fuzzy memories, a few friends, and an abundance of material should she ever decide to pursue a career in comedy.

Amanda is a fan of Italian neorealist cinema, mojitos, and--well, you can just read her protagonist's Match profile on page 20 of this book, because Alison lifted heavily from Amanda's own profile. An erstwhile expat who has lived in Bangalore, Sicily, and Paris, Amanda currently lives in Manhattan, where she is busy writing her second book.