Twenty Years of the Caine Prize for African Writing

Twenty Years of the Caine Prize for African Writing

By:  The Caine Prize

$27.95 Paperback
Out Of Stock
Order Qty:
Review Order
Out Of Stock
Interlink Books

Limited ***

5.3 X 8.0 in
352 pg

FICTION / Anthologies (multiple authors)

Praise for the Caine Prize for African Writing

“Africa’s most important literary award.”
—International Herald Tribune

“Entertaining…  Deserves to be widely read.”
—Sunday Independent, South Africa

“It provokes and challenges.”
—Harare News, Zimbabwe

“Dazzling and splendidly diverse”
—The Times (London)

“I believe that a literary prize for African writers… will show the creative spirit of Africa and her humanity more globally.”
—Archbishop Desmond Tutu

Now entering its twentieth year, the Caine Prize for African Writing is Africa’s leading literary prize, and is awarded to a short story by an African writer published in English, whether in Africa or elsewhere.
        Celebrating the 20th anniversary of the Caine Prize for African Writing—often referred to as the African Booker Prize—this collection showcases the winning short stories of African writers from the past 20 years and reflects the vast range of modern African experience. The writers include: Leila Aboulela (2000), Helon Habila (2001), Binyavanga Wainaina (2002), Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor (2003), Brian Chikwava (2004), Segun Afolabi (2005), Mary Watson (2006), Monica Arac de Nyeko (2007), Henrietta Rose-Innes (2008), EC Osondu (2009), Olufemi Terry (2010) NoViolet Bulawayo (2011), Rotimi Babatunde (2012), Tope Folarin (2013), Okwiri Oduor (2014), Namwali Serpell (2015), Lidudumalingani (2016) Bashra al-Fadil (2017), Makena Onjerika (2018).

As Ben Okri said: “That’s what the Caine Prize is about: celebrating the genius of human diversity. The idea is to enrich the world through its greater contact with Africa, and to enrich Africa through its greater contact with the world.”

The Caine Prize for African Writing is a literature prize awarded to an African writer of a short story published in English. The prize was launched in 2000 to encourage and highlight the richness and diversity of African writing by bringing it to a wider audience internationally. The focus on the short story reflects the contemporary development of the African story-telling tradition.