Jean Harley Was Here

A Novel

Jean Harley Was Here

By:  Johnson, Heather Taylor

9781628729597
$38.99 Hardback
New Release
Order Qty:
 
 
Review Order
 
Available
2018/10/02
Arcade

Limited ***

6.0 X 9.0 in
256 pg



FICTION / Family Life / General
FICTION / Women
FICTION / General
For readers of Everything I Never Told You and When I’m Gone, a profoundly moving, heartwarming debut about family, relationships, and what we leave behind.

Finalist for the Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction

Jean Harley Was Here performs the work of which only the best fiction is capable: it reminds the reader of the precious value of life, of the responsibility we have in caring for one another as best we can, and of the beauty that can result from these efforts. I laughed and cried and loved these characters, each and every one, without reserve. You’ll be so glad to be a part of Jean Harley’s world.”—Kayla Rae Whitaker, author of The Animators

“Sure to be popular among fans of Liane Moriarty and Sarah Pekkanen, this tender, witty novel dives into the life of an amazing woman by exploring the grief of those she’s left behind. Taylor-Johnson’s ability to bring the diverse voices and viewpoints of the supporting characters to life is admirable, especially in a novel this size.”, this tender, witty novel dives into the life of an amazing woman by exploring the grief of those she’s left behind."—Booklist

"Heather Taylor Johnson has a poet's understanding of the world: her exploration of the way in which our lives intertwine—for better or for worse—is nuanced and poignant. A book to savor."—Hannah Kent, bestselling author of Burial Rites and The Good People.

"Warm and insightful."—Christos Tsiolkas, author of The Slap

“I loved the book. . . . It’s really beautifully done and extremely well-written.”—Jennifer Byrne, ABC First Tuesday Book Club

“Contemplative and hopeful.”—Good Reading

“It’s a clever novel which somehow manages to avoid being overly emotional despite the premise. This said, the story did make me laugh and cry, and reminded me of people I know.”—Readings Online

“I just couldn’t put it down. I was engrossed immediately and tearing up by page two; it felt so real. This is a moving portrayal of the power of love and of friendship and it’s wonderful.”—Readings e-News, “Books that Made Us Cry 2017“

“Taylor Johnson’s interweaving of her characters and management of chronology is particularly impressive.”—Sydney Morning Herald

“I loved this book and highly recommend it.”—The Big Book Club

“But Johnson has somehow created a character who is imagined, remembered and grieved-over through the intricate overlapping of her life with the lives of the people she connected with, and it is so beautiful that I fought back tears more than once.”—OddFeather

“A pleasure to read about the life of someone special to those who loved her.”—Australian Women’s Weekly

“It is filled with lilting language and a pulsing beat.”—Avid Reader Blog

“Taylor Johnson’s accomplished writing moves freely between the poetic and commercial, creating a compelling rhythm’ –Australian Book Review

“Full of heart and soul, this book is one of the year’s best.”—Readings, “The Best Fiction Books of 2017”


Heather Taylor-Johnson was born in the United States and has lived in Australia since 1999. She is the author of four volumes of verse and a previous novel, published in Australia, called Pursuing Love and Death. She is the editor of Shaping the Fractured Self: Poetry of Chronic Illness and Pain. She lives in Adelaide, Australia, where she is a Fellow at the J. M. Coetzee Centre for Creative Practice.