The Pasha of Cuisine

A Novel

The Pasha of Cuisine

By:  Ersin, Saygin
Wyers, Mark

9781628729610
$39.99 Hardback
 2018/09/04
Coming Soon
Order Qty:
 
 
Review Order
 
Not yet published
2018/09/04
Arcade

Limited ***

6.0 X 9.0 in
288 pg



FICTION / Historical
COOKING / Regional & Ethnic / Turkish
FICTION / Romance / Historical / Ancient World
For readers of Ken Follett's Kingsbridge series and Richard C. Morais's The Hundred-Foot Journey, a sweeping tale of love and the magic of food set during the Ottoman Empire.

"The Pasha of Cuisine is a captivating, witty, and delicious tale. This is the best kind of historical fantasy; in which the protagonist leaps off the page and through the centuries with his schemes and his heartbreak . . . instantly relatable. A novel to engage all the senses, readers will find themselves tempted to recreate our cook's travels and his dishes!"— S. A. Chakraborty, author of City of Brass

"Even if you aren’t hungry when you open The Pasha of Cuisine, I predict you'll soon be making a restaurant reservation. Saygin Ersin's novel is both a love letter to sophisticated Turkish cuisine and a fascinating window into the Ottoman Empire. Ersin proves that a well-cooked dish can save a life, make someone fall in love, and become the foundation for a magical, utterly unique story."—Sujata Massey, author of The Widows of Malabar Hill

"A richly detailed historical journey through the kitchens of the near East. If the skillful story telling and surprising plot twists don't grip your imagination, the smells and tastes conjured on every page surely will. The Pasha of Cuisine introduces readers to the intricate and sophisticated world of the Ottoman Empire, from the perspective of its magical cuisine and its skillful conjurers."—Ramin Ganeshram, author of The General's Cook

"Ersin's supple prose fashions scents that virtually reach the reader, making this historical fiction that whets the appetite well as the imagination."—Booklist

"Nourishment through food, which is the strongest link between humans and nature, turns into a magical act in this novel. . . . We smell the odor seeping from the cinnamon jar, see the color of frying eggplants . . . the descriptions are so real that it is even possible to hear the sounds of the kitchen."—Posta Kitap

"History, medicine, astrology, and gastronomy come together with a sense of curiosity, You'll relish reading about identities lost in love among the spices, scents, and all kinds of food."—Star Kitap

"Saygin Ersin takes you on a delightful historical journey where fantasy and fiction meet, but it isn't a meeting as you'd imagine! As we follow the protagonist, the Pasha of Cuisine, the novel takes us from a time where Ottoman palace cuisine has already become legendary to within the mysterious harem of Topkapi Palace."—Banyo Mutfak Dergisi

"A delicious novel! The Pasha of Cuisine ranges from the Topkapi Palace to Baghdad and Alexandria, and recounts a love story that isn't just delicious, but mysterious as well."—Kitapeki

"A novel without precedent in Turkish publishing with a hero who is a cook and recounting tales of dishes and the kitchen. The Pasha of Cuisine may well be the first gastronomy novel in all of Turkish literature. Of course, there are novels with recipes in them, but this is the first Turkish one with such a sweeping story centered in the kitchen."—Besir Ayvazoglu, Turkist lyricist and author of Aşk Estetiği

"A cleverly written delicacy that will enchant even the most discerning palate."—Johann Lafer Journal (Germany)

"A historical novel that reads like a thriller."—Freizeit Illustrierte (Germany)

"A bit of a One Thousand and One Nights, a pinch of magic, a spoonful of suspense, and a decent dash of romance make The Pasha of Cuisine an all-around delightful read."—kompass (Germany)>br>


Saygin Ersin, a former journalist, is the author of two previous novels, Judgement of the Emperor and The Storm of Erbain, as well as Retired Police Club, a collection of short detective stories, and the script for the comic Skywind. He currently lives in Izmir, Turkey. -